Book Review: The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #8)

Hello my lovely readers!
It’s time for another installment of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. I just finished part 8, The Hostile Hospital. So let’s see what awaits us here!

Goodreads Cover – The Hostile Hospital


The Plot:
After narrowly escaping from the lynch mob in VFD the Beaudelairs end up at the Heimlich Hospital where they hope to find some information on the man who died in VFD. However, the library of records holds a big surprise for the children. They find a piece of paper that might change everything… Continue reading

Book Review: The Vile Village by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #7)

Hello folks!
I just finished The Vile Village, part 7 in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. Only 6 more books to go, but before I get started with the Hostile Hospital, we’ll take a look on this one!

Goodreads Cover – The Vile Village


The Plot:
The Beaudelaire orphans are in trouble. After their last guardian turned out to be Count Olaf’s evil girlfriend, Mr. Poe has trouble finding a new home for the children. They end up entering a program where an entire town takes on the responsibility of raising them and the town’s name is: VFD. Are Violet, Klaus and Sunny one step closer to solving the mystery? Or is it just another cruel joke? Continue reading

Book vs. Movie: A Series of Unfortunate Events

Hey guys!
As I’m currently making my way through all the books in A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, you can prepare for some more exciting posts on the subject! Today I want to shed some light on the 2004 movie adaptation, which covers the first three novels!


The Plot:
A Series of Unfortunate Events follows Violet, Klaus and Sunny Beaudelair. After a fire destroyed their home and killed their parents, they struggle with their new guardians. The first new care-taker they get is Count Olaf who is only after their money. However, each time the Beaudelair children seem to get rid of him, some new peril awaits them…


Book vs. Movie:
So, in this case it’s not only one novel I will talk about but three. The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room and The Wide Window are the first three installments in Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate events. Putting the entire series (13 books) into one film is quite impossible, so it was definitely a good idea to change it up a bit. Continue reading