TV Show Spotlight: A Series of Unfortunate Events

Hello my lovely readers!
I’ve already written quite a few posts on Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. About the books, the movie, etc.
But I completely forgot to dedicated a sole post to the wonderful Netflix show!


What is it about?
A Series of Unfortunate Events follows Violet, Klaus and Sunny Beaudelair. After a fire destroyed their home and killed their parents, they struggle with their new guardians. The first new care-taker they get is Count Olaf who is only after their money. However, each time the Beaudelair children seem to get rid of him, some new peril awaits them…
There are 13 books in total, and Netflix dedicated 2 episodes to each book. So the first season consists of 8 episodes and deals with the first four books. Continue reading

Book Review: The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #4)

Hey Guys!
It’s time for another post on Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. I finally finished part three, The Miserable Mill!

Goodreads-Cover for The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket

Goodreads-Cover for The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket


The Plot:
After their last encounter with Count Olaf, the Beaudelair Children are sent to the Lucky Smells Lumbermill. It soon turns out that many things are quite irritating their: the workers get paid in coupons, only get chewing gum for lunch, and the kids (including Sunny) have to start working at the mill. So far Count Olaf is nowhere to be seen, but why does the house across the street look like his tattoo?


The Rating:
I have to admit, so far this is my least favourite book in the series. There’s a lot of stuff going on but it feels just a little more superficial than the novels before. Although there were some funny and sad moments, The Miserable Mill failed to pull me in as much as the rest of the series did. Continue reading