3 Silent Movies to check out!

Hello my lovely readers!
Due to my courses at university, I spent the last semester watching a bunch of silent movies. Today I want to share some of the films with you I discovered!

 

#1 – Nosferatu:
This is the most famous movie in my list, I’m pretty sure almost everybody has heard about it at some point. Not only is Nosferatu an amazing classic, it inspired so many following productions and also has a fascinating production story. The story is based on Bram Stoker’s Dracula, but nobody bothered to with the rights when making the movie. So in the end Stoker’s widow sued them and all copies were supposed to be destroyed. We’re lucky this didn’t happen, otherwise we wouldn’t be able to watch Max Schreck playing Count Orlok, the predecessor of all other movie vampires!

 

#2 – The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari:
We’re staying in the same genre – Dr. Caligari tells the tale of a somnambulist (or in easier words: of a sleepwalker). The visual style is stunning and was of course revolutionary at the time the film was shot. To be honest, I’ve never seen anything quite like it, and I strongly recommend checking this one out for every one who has an interest in movies. It’s the quintessential work of German Expressionist cinema and I can promise you’ll be fascinated!

 

#3 – Woman in the Moon:
If you decide to watch this one, you better clear your day of any other appointments. Woman in the Moon is almost three hours long. However, it’s totally worth it. Directed by the famous Fritz Lang, it was one of the last silent movies ever made. As you might have guessed, this is a science fiction movie but with many sad aspects. The scientifical aspects made me smile, but here’s what I learned in a lecture at University: The film actually depicts the scientifical progress so well, a few years later the Nazis didn’t want the movie to be shown in the US, so they wouldn’t find out what the Germans had in store.
Anyway, Woman in the Moon is a lovely story and is certainly a worthy final chapter of the silent cinema.

 

What I enjoy about silent movies is that you have to sit down and really focus on the film. You can’t multitask or you’ll miss important bits of the story. For me that’s quite a new experience as I always do ten things at once when I’m at home. So maybe silent movies will be a new experience for you as well!

 

Do you know any of the films? Any other suggestions for me to check out?

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

Drop me a Line :-)

