Book Review: The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events #8)

Hello my lovely readers!
It’s time for another installment of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. I just finished part 8, The Hostile Hospital. So let’s see what awaits us here!

Goodreads Cover – The Hostile Hospital

 

The Plot:
After narrowly escaping from the lynch mob in VFD the Beaudelairs end up at the Heimlich Hospital where they hope to find some information on the man who died in VFD. However, the library of records holds a big surprise for the children. They find a piece of paper that might change everything…

 

The Rating:
We’ve reached the point where the whole back and forth between the Beaudelairs and Count Olaf is not the only main plot string anymore. The mystery surrounding their parents, the fire and VFD becomes more fascinating and obscure with every book. By now I am binge-reading as I’m so interesting in finally finding out what it’s all about. But in The Hostile Hospital we learn just enough to get even more excited, the answers await somewhere else.
I also enjoy that we can finally put that “let’s find a new guardian” – thing aside and focus on what everybody is after. Thus, the story gains more speed and while reading I often felt like a smoker who light a new cigarette with the last one he just smoked. As soon as I finished The Vile Village, I opened up The Hostile Hospital. The next part, The Carnivorous Carnival is already waiting for me.

Another thrilling Lemony Snicket story with an intricate plot, amiable characters and lovely illustrations (like the one right below)!

 

 

Did you read the book? Let me know in the comments what you think!

Related Posts:

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

Drop me a Line :-)

