Movie Mania: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Hello my lovely readers!
Finally. After it took me just about forever to check out the film, It took me even longer to finally get started with the review. Anyway, here is what every Harry Potter fan has been longing for: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

 

The Plot:
In 1926 Newt Scamander travels to New York. The magizoolist is on his way to Arizona when he encounters some trouble. He accidentally swaps his suitcase (filled with magical creatures) with the one of a muggle. While Newt tries to find all his creatures, many more problems arise in New York…

 

The Rating:
I was so excited to finally see this film. After I devoured the Harry Potter books (just re-read them this year) I was longing for more. While Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was an interesting read, I was more than delighted to find out about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. JK Rowling is on board so I was certain the outcome would be wonderful.
So, what I enjoyed very much are -of course- the magical creatures. Not only are the special effects perfect, Rowling’s imagination surprises and impresses me each time. There are many cute and wonderful new creatures to discover.
Furthermore, the dark side of the story fascinates me. I can’t wait to find out more about what’s going on with Grindelwald. I was a bit confused about the stuff going on but I’m sure things will clarify in the movies to come (and there will be quite a bunch of them).
I loved how different the American wizard world is from the British one we encountered in the Harry Potter novels and films. There are many new elements to the story. Thus, it’s not a prequel to the Potter universe but rather a completely stand-alone thing you can and will enjoy even if you never checked out Rowling’s older works. However, there are some little details you’ll only notice if you are a fan.
But – there always has to be a but – although it was a cute story I don’t really see how they want to fill 5 movies. So many different aspects were squeezed into the first film, I wish some of them had more time to unfold.

Summing up, Fantastic Beasts isn’t quite as good as the Harry Potter series. Despite some weaknesses it’s still a lovely movie you will most certainly enjoy!

 

Did you watch the film? Let me know in the comments what you think!

 

Related Post:

 

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

Drop me a Line :-)

