Old vs. New: Evil Dead

Hey guys!
Today I have something very interesting for you. I’m sure most of you have watched one or maybe several movies/TV shows of the Evil Dead franchise. Since the three original films are one of my favourite horror flicks in general I was sceptical about the new one that came out in 2013. Is it as good as the old stuff?

 

The Plot:
Your basic horror movie scheme: A group of friends is alone in the woods, having the time of their lives in some cabin they rented. Soon before they encounter something evil that lives there too…

 

Old vs. New:


Sam Raimi’s 1981 movie had been a revolutionary step when it comes to horror films. I remember my mother telling me that back in the The Evil Dead was just about the toughest thing out there. No wonder such a huge franchise and fan base built around it!
First of all, what they did with such a tiny budget is super impressive. Especially when you compare it with similar stuff like The Last House on the Left which simply looked cheap from the first minute to last you can tell what an amazing job everybody did here.
Bruce Campbell, who plays Ash, is just divine. I can’t help but love him in all of the films belonging to this franchise, even the new show Ash vs. Evil Dead is brilliant.
However, what might have been considered the peak of horror and special effects in 1981 can of course not compare with what we are used to now. To be honest much of the stuff (most certainly the make-up) simply made me laugh. The Evil Dead was made as serious horror flick, without being as openly funny as the second part Evil Dead II but at times it is just so over the top I couldn’t help but giggle.

So, when I heard about a new movie being made I was sceptical at first. For me Bruce Campbell is the heart and soul of this franchise, so how good can a film without him in the leading role be? But I was prepared to put my doubts aside as the cast was chosen very well. Jane Levy and Lou Taylor Pucci were enough to convince me to check it out.
Well, the new Evil Dead movie certainly has the better special effects and uses them excessively. I’m pretty sure that I’ve never seen that much blood in any other film before. It’s by far more gore-y than the original movie but at times it’s just as much over the top. As horrifying as some scenes may be, I just couldn’t help but laugh (again). Not because anything about it was funny but simply because it was so extremely exaggerated. So in this way, the 2013 movie definitely lives up to the 1981 version.
Generally speaking, it lacks the charm the original movie had. There’s nothing as inventive, daring or fresh about it. Nevertheless it is one of the better horror films I have seen in the recent years!

Summing up, I have to say that nothing beats the original The Evil Dead movie. However, the 2013 flick may not be as revolutionary as the old one but it is certainly an enjoyable horror film – if you can stomach a lot of gore-y scenes πŸ˜‰

 

Which one do you prefer? Let me know in the comments!

Related Posts:

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

Drop me a Line :-)

