5 Thoughts on Vikings Season 4

Hey Folks!
So, I finally finished watching Season 4 of History channel’s epic Vikings saga.

 

Thought #1 – History:
What I always enjoyed about Vikings is real historical foundation it’s built on. I spent lots of time after each season, researching all the fascinating events. In this season it felt like more liberties were taken to depict the events, although it’s mostly still very accurate. Some things did feel a little exaggerated, but who knows. It could be what really happened!

 

Thought #2 – Lagertha:
Lagertha certainly is the most badass bitch in history. I think her part of the story is the free-styled one. However, Katheryn Winnick surprises and impresses me each time she enters the picture. Her portrayal of Lagertha is one of my all-time favourite female characters. Lagertha knows what she wants, she is skilled, she knows how to fight and never backs down. The fact that there actually was a real Viking shieldmaiden makes it even better!

 

Thought #3 – Ragnar:
Well, despite him being the main character and leading a fascinating life with many discoveries, Ragner had begun to annoy me. After he kind of lost his focus and his sense in life, his more or less aimless wandering became harder to bear with each episode. To be honest, his sons were all that kept his part of the story going. I must admit, in the last few episodes his story regained some speed and got a little bit more intersting!

 

Thought #4 – The Cast:
Another great advantage Vikings has to offer in comparison with many other shows is the very authentic cast. Many Scandinavian actors got a chance to play a part in the show. It really adds to the overall impression that the characters not only look very Viking-like but also have the fitting accents!

 

Thought #5 – The Finale:
For those of you who don’t know: the fourth season was split up in two parts, each consisting of ten episodes. The first half ran from February to April 2016, the second half from November 2016 to February 2017. So, there was quite some time to let the story unfold and bring up different aspects. What I hadn’t expected, however, was the final episode. I know that Vikings will return for a fifth season, so I get they wanted some cliffhangers. But it felt like the fourth season ended somewhere halfway through. The finale didn’t feel like a finale at all. To be honest, I was a bit irritated when I found out it’s actually the episode of season for.
Well, now I’m even more excited to find out what season 5 will hold in store for us!

 

Did you watch Vikings? Let me know in the comments what you think!

 

 

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

2 thoughts on “5 Thoughts on Vikings Season 4

Drop me a Line :-)

