Old vs. New: Bewitched

Hey Guys!
Today I have one of my rarer posts for you: old vs. new! Remakes of once popular movies and shows seem to be in fashion, so let’s find out whether it’s a good idea! From an old TV show to a Hollywood blockbuster: Bewitched!

 

The Plot:
In the original show Darrin and Samantha get married. However, soon after he gets the shock of a life time: Samantha is a real with. And she comes with an annoying witch-mother who isn’t too fond of regular humans…
For the movie we get an interesting take: They want to shoot a reboot of the show and accidentally cast a real witch for Samanthas part…

 

Old vs. New:
The DVD of the movie originally found its way into my home because it featured three episode of the old TV show and I was dying to finally check that one out.

I have to say that I only know a couple of episodes, not all 254. But those I watched are absolutely adorable. The original Samantha is charming and lovely. It has that perfect 60s vibe and style I really fancy. Some of the jokes may be a little old-fashioned but are still funny. I imagine quite a lot of effort was needed back in the day to make the magic look halfway decent. So extra points for that!

The movie, however, did not quite blow me away. While the idea was really cute the execution was not overwhelming. Especially Will Ferrell was simply awful. His jokes are flat and uninspired, his performance is way over the top and annoying. There is no chemistry whatsoever between him and Nicole Kidman. Even her performance isn’t as charming as Elizabeth Montgomery’s original Samantha. Not even close.

Well, the remake movie was really really bad. The original show, however, is smart, funny, well made and adorable. Easy choice here!

Which one do you prefer? Let me know in the comments what you think!

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

One thought on “Old vs. New: Bewitched

  1. Pingback: Top 4 TV Shows that feature Magic | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

