Top 5 Non-Disney Animated Movies

Hey Guys!
I just realized I haven’t posted a proper list in ages, so today I want to share my favourite non-Disney animated movies. Here we go!
(I won’t contain any Anime films in this list as there are just too many great ones. Subject of another post!)

 

#5 Minions:
Some people hate these little fellas with all their heart, but I simply adore the minions. Ever since watching Despicable Me I’ve been charmed by them. You can guess how excited I was so see their very own movie! Minions is absolutely hilarious and simply super cute!

 

#4 Corpse Bride:
It’s no secret that I love Tim Burton films but this one is definitely among my favourites. Corpse Bride was made with so much love for details. Together with the rather somber atmosphere it’s unlike any other movie.

 

#3 The Curse of the Were-Rabbit:
You may know the TV show Wallace and Gromit or one of the short movies that derived from the show. The first full-length film featuring not only our two favourite characters, but also a dangerous were-rabbit! Another super cute production you can’t help but love!

 

#2 Mary and Max:
This movie is nothing like what you would expect. Mary is a weird little girl who begins an unlike pen-palship with an 44-year old man. The best way to describe this one is simply as heart-warming. Numerous times throughout the film you’ll want to hug your screen. Still all clichรฉs are avoided and we get a wonderful and smart movie.

 

#1 Persepolis:
Really impressive. Persepolis is based on an autobiographical graphic novel by Marjane Satrapi. It follows the evolution of a young girl against the backdrop of the Iranian Revolution. I still can’t believe that this masterpiece never won the Academy Award (Ratatouille won that year). If you haven’t seen it already, go check it out right now, you won’t be disappointed!

 

What’s your favourite animated non-Disney film? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Non-Disney Animated Movies

  1. sorri for mei inglisch, oba i hob in da schui net so aufpasst, weul i die gonze zeit nua an fรผm denkt hob… mir follatn do no ei : WALTZ WITH BASHIR, YELLOW SUBMARINE und vur ollem WATERSHIP DOWN, der mi domois aus meina Walt Disney-Wรถt aussagrissn hot und so a richtige Watschn woar – i woar grod 9 und danoch vรถllig fertig.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen bits and pieces of Corpse Bride but never watched it through fully, definitely need to get on that! And I’ve heard of the Persepolis graphic novel but didn’t know there was a film version + Mary and Max looks very adorable, I’ve never heard of it before, but I really want to watch it after seeing the trailer. I’m definitely adding them to my to watch list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read the graphic novel yet, but the Persepolis movie was definitely impressiv!
      Mary+Max simply is a film to fall in love with! I’d love to hear whether you liked it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. I haven’t heard of many of these films but they sound interesting! Have you ever seen the animated movie “9”? That’s an obscure one but it’s good. ^ ^

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Drop me a Line :-)

