Movie Mania: Serenity (2005)

Hello Folks!
Recently I wrote a post on the (unfortunately) very short-lived show Firefly. After the show was cancelled in 2002 fans had to wait for 3 years before they got to find out more about the Serenity’s crew!

 

The Plot:
This film takes place just after the TV show ended. We accompany the crew on one of their daily task: a bank robbery. So far, so good. However, when they reach the next city, River turns out to be a bit more dangerous than anybody would have expected. On top of that, she whispers something mysterious, that just calls to be found out…

 

The Rating:
When I was done with Firefly, I was longing for more. Fortunately I didn’t have to wait for 3 years. Serenity immediately jumped to the top of my watch list.
As I mentioned in my post on the TV show, the best way to describe Serenity is as space western drama, that for some reason reminds me a bit of Doctor Who. Sci-Fi is not my favourite genre as many movies seem over the top and the effects look outright fake, but this one really blew me away.
First of all, I love it that all the cast members returned for this sequel. The movie wouldn’t have been half as good, if any of them had been missing.
Furthermore, we get a fascinating and gripping story-line. Well, Joss Whedon never lets you down, I guess. Despite being set in space and being of course completely made up, the plot is still relatable and feels kind of realistic.
Topped off with impressive special effects, you get a sci-fi film that is hell of a ride.

If you liked Firefly, you will love Serenity! Even if you haven’t seen the show yet, you can check out the film and enjoy it. 100% recommendation for this one!

 

Did you see Serenity? Or maybe watch Firefly? Let me know in the comments what you think!

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

Drop me a Line :-)

