TV Show Spotlight: Firefly

Hello Folks!
Today’s post is about one of those amazing shows that for some reason never lived to see a second season. There are only 14 episodes (and one movie, but more about that in another post) of Firefly but by now it’s reached 100% cult status.

 

What is it about?
I guess the best way to describe Firefly is as hell of ride. It’s a space western drama that follows the adventures of the Serenity (a Firefly space ship) and its crew. While they are operating on the darker side, making a living mostly with smuggling, things get spiced up when two new and mysterious guests join them on the ship…

 

Why should you check it out?
While I am not the biggest sci-fi fan, I enjoyed this show from first to last episode. It reminded me a bit of Doctor Who with a western touch, something like “The Doctor and High Noon in Outer Space”. As I’m reading what I just typed, I must admit it sounds super weird, but I promise Firefly is awesome. The characters are all fascinating and get a colorful history along with lots of depth. There is so much going on aboard this ship! And I just love how mysterious it all gets when Simon and River join the crew. I really wish we would have learned more about what happened to her!
Besides a formidable cast and a fascinating plot, Firefly has even more to offer: The special effects are first-rate and look rather realistic. (Some show just annoy me by looking very fake) Mixed with a perfect soundtrack (I could listen to the main theme for hours on end) we get a show that really should have had more time unfold!

 

Did you watch Firefly? Let me know in the comments what you think!

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin‘, Tumblr, Goodreads or Instagram!

2 thoughts on “TV Show Spotlight: Firefly

Drop me a Line :-)

