2016 – Sunny Side Up

Hello my lovely readers!
2016 is as good as over and of course it wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies. A lot of shit happened in this year, globally and personally speaking. However, I’m trying to jump over my shadow and be more of a positive person, this will be a post about all the good things that happened in 2016!

 

The biggest thing I accomplished this year is getting my Bachelor’s degree. I had my last exam in December and received my grade a few days ago. Although University held some trouble for me this year I am super stoked. Technically I still have to fill out some forms and wait for the staff to process it before I’m officially done, but at least I can now stop holding my breath every time I check my e-mails 😛

 

Another thing I am thankful for is the amazing time I got to spent in Portugal this summer. It was my longest holiday so far and I already long to get back to surfing. Portugal is a beautiful country with amiable people, a great mentality and a wonderful culture to discover. There are still many things there I want to explore!

 

I finally nailed some yoga poses I almost wrote off. This may not sound like much to you, but for me each little achievement is a reminder that I can do anything if I just invest time and hard work. Getting into the splits took a lot of nerves and persistence but I can’t even tell you how happy I was, when I got it right the first time. I was jumping around and giggling like a little girl! And that was only the start 😀

 

Last but not least…
What I appreciate most about 2016 are the people I met. I got to make some wonderful friends at University but what mattered most are the friends I made back home. There’s this group of friends I kind of snuck into and by now I finally feel like I actually have friends. Not just acquaintances but people whom I have things in common with, who have the same interests, people I can talk to. I’m 22 years old and I’m sad to admit that so far there actually never was anybody in my life who’d fit that description.
From time to time I feel a little like an intruder as I just made my way into the group like a little ninja, but I came to stay.
Cheers to more great times in 2017!

 

What is your favourite thing about 2016? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “2016 – Sunny Side Up

  1. It sounds like you’ve had an amazing 2016! Congratulations on your degree, that’s a huge achievement 🙂
    For me, my favourite thing about 2016 was getting married and having the most amazingly fun honeymoon, I doubt 2017 is going to top that!
    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Drop me a Line :-)

