Movie Mania: A Girls walks Home Alone at Night

Hello Guys!
This is another one of those posts that have been sitting in my drafts folder for ages. A Girl walks Home Alone at Night is known as the first “Iranian Vampire Western”, so it promised to be interesting!

 

The Plot:
Bad City is not the kind of place you want to get stranded in. It’s full of junkies, prostitutes, pimps and other lost souls. Among all those tragic figures a Vampire stalks walks trough the night…

 

The Rating:
I was very excited to finally check out this independent film, as everybody else was completely over the moon because of it. The trailer promised and interesting and atmospheric movie.
First of all, I liked that it was shot in black and white. It distinguished A Girl walks Home Alone at Night right away from other current horror movies. However, it didn’t help to build up any atmosphere. Believe me when I say, there was none. I can point my finger at it but there was something in the composition that simply didn’t work out. Nothing pulled you into the movie, no characters to relate to, nothing going on that is particularly fascinating. In general, it’s all dragging on at a snail’s pace. The 101 minutes felt like three hours and I caught myself several times wondering when the film will finally be over.
Although the trailer let me to expect an original piece that might be quite intense, the outcome was rather disappointing. In general the film seemed to consists of stuff you’ve seen before somewhere else mashed together. It just was boring and somewhat irritating at times. Especially the love story that had to throw in there for some reason felt extremely out-of-place.
The only silver lining this film has to offer is the soundtrack. It features some awesome tracks I immediately went to find after the credits.

A Girl walks Home Alone at Night is a movie I was determined to love but ended up filing under “never watch again”. Promising trailer, boring outcome!

Did you watch this film? Let me know in the comments what you think!

2 thoughts on “Movie Mania: A Girls walks Home Alone at Night

Drop me a Line :-)

