My Top 5 Tom Hanks Movies

Hey Guys!
While I was at the movies a few days ago, the trailer for a new Tom Hanks film came on. I caught myself thinking “It has Tom Hanks in the leading role, it has to be good!” After contemplating on that matter, I decided to honor this superb actor with his very own post!
So here are my favourite Tom Hanks movies! (Certainly not easy to choose)

 

#5 – Big:
This is one of Hanks’ earlier works and I guess not too many young people even know about it. In this film Tom Hanks plays a kid that gets trapped in the body of a 30-year-old man, after a fortune-teller machine granted him his wish to be big.
Big definitely needs to be among the top 5. It is cute, funny and simply heart-warming. And it of course features a very iconic movie scene!

 

#4 – Cast Away:
Intense – That’s the best word to describe this film. Tom Hanks plays Chuck, a man who ends up a deserted island after surviving a plane crash. This movie really gave me goosebumps. Not only the plot and the setting but most importantly Tom Hanks performance makes it one of the best survival movies I ever came across.
And due to this film, every volleyball I will ever come across shall be named Wilson.

 

#3 – Philadelphia:
Philadelphia is not only a damn good movie, it also added an important contribution to whole AIDS/HIV discussion. It was one of the first movie to take on that subject and deals with it in an honest way. Tom Hanks plays a lawyer who desperately tries to hide the fact that he is HIV positive. After he looses his job, presumably because of his condition he goes to court.

 

#2 – Catch Me If You Can:
After two really dark and intense movie in this list, we’ll move on to a film that is more on the funny side. Catch Me If You Can is based on the life of Frank Abagnale who was one of the most successful con men in history. Tom Hanks plays his main antagonist, a FBI agent who tries to get him behind bars. What I love about this movie is that you can clearly tell how much fun everybody had while making it. Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks go great together and were most certainly the perfect choices for the leading roles.

 

#1 – Forrest Gump:
You probably already guessed it. My favourite is and always will be Forrest Gump. This is definitely Hanks’ Opus Magnum. It makes you laugh, it makes you cry, it is heart warming and heart wrenching. Tom Hanks excels in this film about a the life of a bit slow-witted but kind-hearted and smart in his own way guy.
I’ve already seen this movie numerous times but every time there is a re-run on TV I simply need to watch it.

What’s your favourite Tom Hanks movie? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “My Top 5 Tom Hanks Movies

Drop me a Line :-)

