Stranger Things Book Tag

strangerthings-booktag

Hello Guys!
I haven’t done a Tag-post in ages so when I came across the Stranger Things Book Tag, I got really excited! As you know, I recently finished watching the show and now I don’t know what to do with my life anymore 😛
However, I found this awesome Tag over at Kat’s blog Life and Other Disasters (and also the cool graphics). Since she told everyone to consider themselves tagged, I take the chance – here we go!

 

thevanishingof-willbyers

THE FIRST BOOK IN A SERIES THAT LEFT YOU INTRIGUED AND SLIGHTLY CONFUSED

A Game of Thrones - CoverFor this question I’ll go with A Game of Thrones, the first book in George R. R. Martin’s series A Song of Ice and Fire. The book is a masterpiece but there are so many characters and plot strings, you will most definitely end up confused.
To be honest, it took me the entire first two books to completely figure out who’s who and what’s going on.
However, I was hooked from page one and can’t wait for Martin to finally finish the next part!

 

theupside-down

A BOOK WITH A SETTING YOU WOULD NEVER WANT TO LIVE IN

hunger gamesThe first book I thought of is the first installment in the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. The whole world as it is depicted in the novel seems either fake and fucked up or poor and sad.
Let’s not even begin talking about the Hunger Games where people have to compete life/death just for amusement…

 

 

eleven-011

A BOOK YOU OWN THAT IS SOMEWHAT DAMAGED, BUT LOVED TO PIECES

Well, as I love all of my books dearly, they look like no-one ever touched them despite the fact that I read all of them. The only novel I own that appears to be a tiny bit battered is actually one of the ASOIAF books by George R. R. Martin. I don’t remember which installment it was but I carried on of those really heavy books around for the entire summer – and that shows!

 

mikelukas-anddustin

A TRILOGY YOU ALWAYS GO TO WHENEVER YOU NEED A PICK-ME-UP

Well, I can’t really answer this question. My to-read-pile is constantly growing so I never take the time to re-read anything. However, a series I really liked is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Everybody is different and special and it just animated me to embrace my weirdness.

 

the-demogorgon

A BOOK WITH A TERRIFYING BEAST YOU WOULDN’T WANT TO FACE IN A DARK ALLEY

The Lord of the Rings trilogy by Tolkien contained some really nasty things I definitely wouldn’t want to come across. To answer this question I’ll just stick with the first novel The Fellowship of the Ring. No spoilers here but what happened with the Balrog was intense and I’m certain that I don’t want to go near that thing.

 

dr-brenner

A BOOK WITH A VILLAIN WHO IS BOTH MANIPULATIVE AND DEDICATED

I recently read Northern Lights by Philip Pullman. Mrs Coulter fits this description perfectly. There aren’t villains out there who are as manipulative as her. She’s able to make you love and trust her and within a second she could crash you.
Her dedication is also out of question. She doesn’t bother killing people, or kidnapping children and basically torturing them…

 

nancy-wheeler

A BOOK YOU DIDN’T EXPECT TO LOVE

The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma! I got this book as a gift from a very nice shopkeeper on my birthday. To be honest, I wasn’t really a book I would have picked out myself but I started reading anyway. Guess what? I loved it!
It was funny and clever and despite some tiny logical errors I enjoyed the plot twists. So far I haven’t  managed to get started with part 2 but it’s definitely on my list!

 

hawkins-indiana

A BOOK WITH A SETTING THAT’S JUST A LITTLE BIT STRANGE

I think I’ll go with The Subtle Knife. It’s the second installment in Philip Pullman’s trilogy about Lyra. After Northern Lights I was okay with the world Pullman had created. It’s somewhat similar to our world but of course at some points distinctly different. When I began with the second book, I of course expected to go back to that world. However, I was super startled when the novel actually began with a chapter in our world. It’s really almost like our world only some little things are different and that irritated me for quite some time.

 

So that’s it with my opinion on the Stranger Things Tag! I hope you enjoyed reading, let me know about your opinions in the comments!
I’m not going to tag anyone, as I have no idea who even watched the show. If you fancy doing it, consider yourself tagged!

 

Related Posts:

 

5 thoughts on “Stranger Things Book Tag

  1. I read the ASOIAF books after binging two seasons of Game of Thrones and I think I would have been completely lost with all the characters if I hadn’t seen them first. Connecting them to actors and actresses helped so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 5 Thoughts on Stranger Things Season 1 | The Punk Theory

  3. Pingback: Halloween Horror: Top 4 Scary TV Shows | The Punk Theory

  4. Pingback: Book vs. Movie: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

