Movie Mania: Suicide Squad

Hey Guys!

Today were gonna tackle THE movie everyone is talking about. The world waited long for Suicide Squad to be released – now it’s out and from what you hear it’s rather disappointing. But is that really true?

 

The Plot:
Gotham’s finest assortment of bad guys (and girls) is recruited for a rather tough job. Some evil witch (who should actually be crumbling to dust) is possession an archeologist and also just decided to take over the world. Well, looks like a jolly good afternoon…

 

The Rating:
Before I even saw the trailer for this film I had heard and read numerous times how super awful it’s supposed to be. So I prepared for the worst.
As it turns out, the movie isn’t that bad. However, it’s not too good either.
The members of the Squad are actually rather interesting characters. I liked how they accentuated every one of them and how the added bits of back-stories. I have to admit I usually don’t read any comics and also don’t watch to many movies of that kind, so I had to look up some things about the different characters – without any additional info it would have been a bid confusing for me at times. The Squad members who got the most attention are definitely Margot Robbie who played Harley Quinn and Will Smith as Deadshot. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I would have liked to get to know the other characters a bit better as well.
However, what I really enjoyed are the scenes with the Joker. Jared Leto did  a pretty good job with that role – totally gave me the creeps. His portrayal of the Joker was over the top, weird and colorful – just like the entire movie.
Let’s move on the more negative aspects. As interesting as the Squad members may be, the mission was not. It was a rather cookie cutter storyline. Nothing original, I felt like nobody even tried to hard to create something actually worth seeing. That really pissed me off. There was so much potential and you could see a bit more of it go to waste with every minute that passed.

So, summing up I have to say that the movie was not as bad as I expected. However, the whole thing is a rather mediocre experience not worth all the fuss about it.

 

Did you watch the film? Did you like it? Let me know in the comments!

Drop me a Line :-)

