TV Show Spotlight: Blackadder

Hello my lovely readers!
Today I want to share a real gem with you.
I only discovered Black Adder rather recently myself but so far I haven’t encountered any show that can get even close to it. Black Adder is the most hilarious show ever!
By the way, I’d also like to introduce a new type of post, the Spotlight. Apart from my regular reviews on Books, Movies, etc. I will bring up a few things that are so dope, you simply have to check them out. So let’s get started with my first Spotlight-post!

 

What is it about?
This show was created by Rowan Atkinson (Yes, Mr. Bean) and Richard Curtis, it aired from 1983 to 1989 on BBC1. There are 4 seasons with a total of 24 episodes (+ a bunch of one-off installments).
The basic concept is a story around Edmund Blackadder, a complete anti-hero. Each season is set in a different historical period and tells of Blackadder’s misfortunes.

 

Why should you check it out?
I have to admit, I was sceptical myself. Mr. Bean never was a character I consider particularly funny nor did Atkinson’s other movies really make me laugh. But this show is most definitely the best thing he ever did.
I’m currently halfway through the second season, and so far I loved every episode. Real bits of history were picked up, thus we also get a bunch of real historical characters but were turned into an alternative history. You can not believe how hilarious the whole thing is. I’m pretty sure I’m never laughed that much with any other show!
What I really enjoy is that you can see how much all the actors enjoy themselves and have fun doing the show. Although it is so ridiculous, you can also tell that a lot of time was put into the creation, the writing and also in research.
If you just watch one episode, you’ll be able to tell why Blackadder is considered one of the best British sitcoms of all time!

I’ll leave you with a scene from my favourite episode so far. Edmund Blackadder has to face trial as he is accused of being a witch…

Do you know the show? What’s your opinion? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “TV Show Spotlight: Blackadder

Drop me a Line :-)

