Movie Mania: The Witch

Hello folks!
Today’s movie has been on my list ever since I had seen the trailer. I was super excited but somehow completely forgot about the film after some time. Well, after having a little chat with a friend of mine, I finally set down to finally watch The Witch!

 

The Plot:
It’s the 17th century somewhere in New England. William and his family are banished from a Puritan plantation and try to build a new life. They settle down at the edge of a rather spooky forest, which soon turns out to be a rather bad idea. After William’s wife has another son, strange things begin to happen: the baby disappears, the twins start talking to a goat…

 

The Rating:
I know that there are some very mixed feelings about this film out there. So, when I sat down, I wasn’t really sure what to expect and tried not to get my hopes up to high. However, I was pleasantly surprised!
First of all, I really appreciate it, that they made an effort to use 17th century language. I’m a sucker for details and always love it when a movie is pretty accurate in that way. If you are not too familiar with expressions like “thee” and “thou” you might need subtitles but don’t let that discourage you! The fitting langauge adds so much to the atmosphere of the movie.
Moreover, this film definitely was one thing: intense. The atmosphere was really chilling and gave me goosebumps several times. It was all a perfect match: the actors, the costumes, the scenery, the music, the special effects.
As we are add it: there are not that many special effects. Although the movie has some gore-y moments, it’s in general relying more on hinting at something, which makes the whole thing even more chilling.
Furthermore, you can expect some rather unique ideas. Despite the fact that I’ve seen plenty of witch-movies and even more horror films, there where still some scenes that really surprised me.

The Witch may not be your regular horror movie and different from what yo expect, but if you give the film a chance and take it as it is, I promise you will be surprised and maybe also slightly disturbed😉

 

Did you watch the film? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Movie Mania: The Witch

Drop me a Line :-)

