Book Review: The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials #3)

Hey Folks!

I finally found the time to finish the last installment of Philip Pullman’s famous His Dark Materials series. Did I love it? Hate it? Well, let’s find out!

 

The Plot:
Lyra has been taken by Mrs Coulter. Of course her dear friend Will sets out on a journey through out the worlds. Only together they will be able to help Lord Asriel in his fight against the Authority, also known as God. But on their way they will encounter many dangerous tasks, they even travel through the land of the dead…

 

The Rating:
As you might know, I was very fond of the first part Norther Lights. Then came The Subtle Knife which was only one thing: irritating.
So, I was rather keen to see how the final book would turn out. However, I am really disappointed with Phillip Pullman.
The Amber Spyglass is weird and at times really lengthy. Many of the points he touches throughout the novel have a rather philosophical background which is not only a bit dryly but also a bit of a weird subject for a children’s book. In the acknowledgements I found out that Pullman was partly inspired by something Heinrich von Kleist wrote. Just to give you a little context: I had to read that exact text for my philosophy lecture at university this semester.  To be honest if I hadn’t been familiar with that text I’m not sure I would have been able to grasp some of Pullman’s points and deeper meanings.
Apart from irritating and rather complicated subjects being introduced, different plot lines also feel very lengthy. I understand that he wants to give an idea about this whole underlying thing he thought of, but it’s not interesting, not thrilling, not capturing.
So, while most of the book was just dragging on, the final chapters simply annoyed me. Some stuff was plain weird, with a few things I even felt like he didn’t try to hard to come up with anything fancy. But – I don’t want to add any spoilers – the last big thing to happen was rather big cliché that was just not necessary.

After I really like the Sally Lockhart books, this was a huge let-down. I suspected it after reading The Subtle Knife, but still ended up very disappointed and annoyed.

 

Did you read the book? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

 

Related Posts:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials #3)

  1. Pingback: Stranger Things Book Tag | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

