Book Review: Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay (Dexter #2)

Hello my lovely readers!

After being very fond of the TV show Dexter (and ending up disappointed by the last couple of seasons), I of course had to check out Jeff Lindsay’s books it was based on! Well, the first installment didn’t impress me too much, but I decided to give it another shot.
Here are my thoughts on Dearly Devoted Dexter!

 

The Plot:
Doakes is staying close to Dexter, wanting to catch him when he makes a wrong move. But this lovely relationship gets interrupted when somebody is found. This person had been tortured and on the brink of death, yet still alive. As it turns out, this is part of a bigger thing. More exactly, some old friend of Doakes is trying to get his revenge…

 

The Rating:
Well, if you follow my blog, you know that I wasn’t too fond of the first installment in the series. However, the show (at least seasons 1-5) were really great, so I decided to give Jeff Lindsay another shot.
To be honest, it simply was a waste of my time. The story was only annoying and irritating. Not irritating in good sense, that makes you think, but simply what-is-the-point-of-all-this irritating. The plot isn’t thrilling, no matter how hard Lindsay tries. On several occasion I just wanted to book to be over, instead of wanting to find out whether they catch the bad guy or not.
Jeff Lindsay may have some interesting ideas, that could work out if you wrap them up the right way, but there is one thing he is not: a writer. In my opinion his pieces lack depth. The characters remain somewhat shallow and you basically can’t relate with anyone in the entire book. Everybody remains pale. Even Dexter himself doesn’t get under your skin at all.
This is also true for the story itself. There is no real depth, no higher sense, there’s just nothing.

After regretting that I gave Jeff Lindsay a second chance, I will certainly not read another Dexter book. Not thrilling, not interesting.

Did you read the book? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

 

Related Posts:

Drop me a Line :-)

