Book Review: The Horse and his Boy (The Chronicles of Narnia #5)

Hello guys!
Before I go into The Horse and his Boy by C. S. Lewis, I need to explain something about the Chronicles of Narnia series.
As you noticed, I wrote reviews on the first three books – or what I believed to be the first three.
When I kept reading I realised that after writing four books, Lewis decided to come up with two additional novel that should be read before and after The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.
So, I decided to write my reviews in order of publication of the books instead of reading order. As the additional books only give extra info but do not really belong to the same storyline as the others. I hope I didn’t confuse anyone, so here we go!

 

The Plot:
The story is rather simple: Two very different kids decide to run from home and search for Narnia. They are each accompanied by a talking horse (they actually gave them the idea about Narnia). Along their way, the kids run into each other and team up.
What nobody would have expected: They have to prevent a war!

 

The Rating:
As I mentioned above, this story does not directly tell the story of any of the Pevensie kids. I rather enjoyed having things mixed up a bit as this book allows you to find out more about the native people instead. This book is actually one of my favourites as the plot is rather different from the rest. It feels like an oriental fairy-tale and is really an interesting read.
It’s nice that for a change the main characters seem to have a real purpose for doing things instead of simply stumbling in by chance, as the Pevensie kid’s do in the other books.

All in all this novel seems more thought through than several of Lewis’ other books. The story is a bit more intricate and I have to say this may be my favourite book in The Chronicles of Narnia.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments below!

Related Posts:

Drop me a Line :-)

