Book Review: The Tin Princess by Philip Pullman (Sally Lockhart #4)

My dear readers!

I am almost sad to report that I finished The Tin Princess, the last installment in Philip Pullman’s Sally Lockhart quartet. I’ve grown so fond of the characters, I wish there’d be more books!

 

The Plot:
Adelaide, the sweet young girl from The Ruby in the Smoke is back. And believe me she made quite an improvement. Adelaide got marry to a young fellow who is actually the Prince of a little country name Razkavia. Life should be well, but as it turns out, somebody wants to murder Adelaide’s dear husband. With Becky, a young girl who is supposed to teach her German, and Jim she heads for Razkavia and gets more than she expected…

 

The Rating:
First of all I have to say that I was very surprised that the final installment in the Sally Lockhart quartet is actually not about Sally Lockhart at all. She only appears briefly at the beginning and the end of the novel.
However, after I had overcome my first shock, I warmed up to the characters and was so thrilled when they began their journey. What I love so much about Pullman’s books is his historical accuracy. I am aware that there never was a kingdom named Razkavia, but he incorporated many parts that remind me very much of Austria in that period of time. Anyway, the way Pullman creates his story, you’d believe any minute that Razkavia may have existed at some point in time.
All I can say is that the story is thrilling. You just can’t put the book down. It’s almost like witnessing history first hand.
Well, I do have one tiny little negative point. The story is rather complex and I wish Pullman would have given some characters more space. I think the story would have become even more intricate if he had added some background especially when it comes to the stuff going on in Germany.
This also ties in with the problem the ending gives me. There are so many characters and also a few side-plots, I felt like Pullman simply forgot about some of them. There is a bunch of characters that simply aren’t mentioned any more at the end and I really want to know what happend to them!

So if you haven’t already, go check this book out. I promise you will love.
And dear BBC, please to me a favor and finally make an adaptation!

 

What do you think? Seen the film? Read the book? Let me know in the comments!

Related Posts:

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Tin Princess by Philip Pullman (Sally Lockhart #4)

  1. Pingback: Book vs. Movie: Northern Lights/The Golden Compass | The Punk Theory

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials #2) | The Punk Theory

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials #3) | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

