Book Review: The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson #5)

Hello Folks!
As I promised I want to share my thoughts on the final installment of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan with you. So let’s get down to business!

 

The Plot:
The war can’t be stopped. The Titan’s are approaching. While the Gods are off fighting in the West Kronos plans an attack on Olympus. So the only thing standing between him and the total destruction are our heroes from camp halfblood. To stand a chance Percy makes a dangerous choice.

 

The Rating:
After I already mention 4 times how much I love Greek mythology and adore Rick Riordan for giving the famous myths a new touch, I won’t lose any more words about it. You get the point.
I have to say, the series reminded me a bit of Harry Potter, only in Greek mythology. We have a bunch of friends, going through dangerous adventures to save the day. Ultimately they have to fight a huge war against the evil. Seems familiar? Yes, it does. But nevertheless Riordan created an exciting and fresh story. The reason it reminded me of Harry Potter was not primarily the overall plot similarities. Both series give me the same feelings which is says a lot about the quality of the Percy Jackson book.
Anyway, the last installment. I was really fascinated how real Riordan made the war seem. Sometimes it felt like you only need to look out the window to see a kid in Greek battle armour fly by on a Pegasus. Despite dealing with -of course- mystical Gods and monster, the story is really credible and authentic. I was holding my breath throughout plenty of passages, anxious to find out what would happen next.

I can only say that  The Last Olympian is a worthy ending to an awesome series. If you enjoyed Harry Potter, I’m certain you’ll love these books aswell. Go ahead and read the Percy Jackson series, I promise you won’t regret it!

 

Did you read the book? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

 

Related Posts:

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson #5)

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan (Heroes of Olympus #1) | The Punk Theory

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan (Heroes of Olympus #2) | The Punk Theory

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan (Heroes of Olympus #3) | The Punk Theory

  4. Pingback: Book Review: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan (Heroes of Olympus #4) | The Punk Theory

  5. Pingback: Book Review: The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan (Heroes of Olympus #5) | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

