Top 10 Musical Movies (Part 2)

Hello, hello, hello!
To kick off another great weekend, I want to talk a bit about my Top 5 musical movies. A few days ago you already got 10 to 6. Here’s the rest, let me know what you think about it in the comments!

 

#5 – Cry-Baby:
Two words: Johnny Depp. Although he does get some minus points for not singing himself. (He is pretty good at that, you’ll see a bit further down the post) This movie that is actually a bit like Grease – a good girl and a bad boy – is so much fun. I love the songs they chose, they simply match perfectly with the whole vibe of the film. If you haven’t seen Cry-Baby yet, do so now! You won’t regret it!

 

#4 – Grease:
As I was already talking of Grease, it of course also belongs in the Top 5. Grease is actually THE movie that comes to my mind when I think about musical movies. Let’s face it: the 70’s were pretty damn awesome. Not only does it feature nice actors, basically every song in this film turned into a hit. I clearly understand why: you just can’t help but sing along to all of them!

 

#3 – Moulin Rouge!:
Colorful, over the top, intense. I guess these words best describe the story of a writer falling for a courtesan who meets a tragic end. Baz Lurmann used to direct music videos before he turned to movies. That contributes to the really fast and unique vibe his film have. The most impressive thing about Moulin Rouge is that manage both to lift you up and throw you down. The songs they chose are more than perfect for that.

 

#2 – Chicago:
Now we’re getting to the darker side of musical movies. Chicago is actually a crime film. I saw it so many years ago, to be honest I remember but one thing: the cell-block tango. This song alone is reason enough for me to put Chicago on #2. The women in this story are not to be messed with, they don’t need to be saved. Bad-ass chicks and a bad-ass song. Promise me you’ll check it out!

 

#1 – Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street:
As I was talking of dark musical movies – this one is the darkest of them all. Tim Burton + Johnny Depp + Helena Bonham Carter – what more could you want? Sweeney is a man who met some bad luck throughout his life but when he gets a chance of at least saving his daughter, he won’t stop a anything. I love this film. I can sing along to all the songs. It’s so perfectly gloomy, sad and heart-breaking at the same time. It’s wonderful who both Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter made an effort to learn how to things the songs theirselves. Let me just say, they did a splendid job!

What do you think? Any other great musical film I need to add? Let me know in the comments!

Related Posts:

 

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Musical Movies (Part 2)

Drop me a Line :-)

