The X-Files – 6 Thoughts on the new Season!

In 2016 a huge gift was made to all The X-Files fans. The show returned for another season!
While I wouldn’t consider myself a fan – in fact I haven’t seen a single episode of the original series – I was pretty excited about the show returning. Here are my thoughts on it!

 

Thought #1:
The very first season of this show aired before I was even born so I pretty much missed the entire thing. But when I started watching season 10 I was hooked from the very first episode on. Although it is pretty weird at times there are many interesting ideas and the entire show is very well made. I know I’ll end up binge-watching the other nine seasons!

Thought #2:
After watching about half of the season I came to a conclusion: The X-Files is basically Beyond Belief: Fact or Fiction in better resolution. Don’t get me wrong, this is a compliment. I used to love that show when I was a kid!

Thought #3:
They have a great balance of  weird, funny and serious. After the first episodes were rather dark and a bit creepy, I really didn’t expect that there would be episodes like “Mulder and Scully Meet the Were-Monster” that make you laugh.

Thought #4:
Gillian Anderson and David Duchovny have great chemistry. They both are great actors and I can totally see how they kept the show going for so long. A little side note: Never ever watch it in German. Duchovny’s German voice over is more than awful.

Thought #5:
Tim Armstrong???
I’m a huge Rancid fan and was stoked to hear he would appear on the show. In the ended he basically played himself and it once more got very clear why he usually doesn’t act. It’ almost impossible to understand what that man is saying. I’ve seen heard anybody else mumble that much.

Thought #6:
The cliffhanger. This totally killed me. I hope there will be another season, I need to know what happens with Mulder and Scully. Ending the season like this is simply evil!

 

Have you seen the new season? What do you think about it? Let me know in the comments!

Related Posts:

2 thoughts on “The X-Files – 6 Thoughts on the new Season!

Drop me a Line :-)

