Movie Mania: Maleficent

I finally found the time to catch up with the very successful movies of 2014 and 2015. A film I was particularly thrilled about but just couldn’t find the time to watch is Maleficent. We all know her – she’s the evil fairy from Sleeping Beauty, but what’s her story?

 

The Plot:
In this movie we experience a familiar tale from a new angle. This time the story follows Maleficent, how she grew up, what made her angry and what really happened with Sleeping Beauty.

 

The Rating:
As you can tell by now, I was really excited about this one.
First of all, I love the fact that the took an old story and refashioned it. Although the made Maleficent something completely new they also added little pieces we all know from the Sleeping Beauty Disney film. So despite watching the story from a different angle you still get the connection to the original story. It perfectly adds depth and substance.
Furthermore, Angelina Jolie did a great job portraying Maleficent’s transition and all the bruises – inside and outside – she carried with her. Although I am usually a bit torn when it comes to Jolie’s performances I definitely add this one to my favourites.
Another point that makes this movie really stand out is the scenery. I suppose most of it was generated via computer and whoever was responsible for that deserves an applause. Especially the Moors looked absolutely stunning and magical.
The only one I wasn’t impressed by is Sharlto Copley. He did a halfway decent job but at the end of the day his character remained somewhat pale. He just couldn’t get it across.
But despite this very tiny flaw I can fully recommend Maleficent.

So, as far as fairytale-movie are concerned, I now count Maleficent among my favourites. It adds a completely new touch and depth to Sleeping Beauty – a story we all grew up with. The actors did an amazing job and the movie is already worth seeing just because of the setting!

 

What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

Related Posts:

3 thoughts on “Movie Mania: Maleficent

  1. Pingback: Movie Mania: Cinderella (2015) | Le Cinéma en Rose

Drop me a Line :-)

