7 Thoughts on American Horror Story Season 5 – A Recap

Another season of American Horror Story – the notorious anthology – is over. The fifth installment “Hotel” spanned over 12 episodes and told the story of Hotel Cortez – a dark and evil place that no-one will ever leave neither alive nor dead.

 

The Positives:

#1:
First of all I want to mention how absolutely divine Lady Gaga was in this show. At first I had my doubts whether she would be able to pull off such a big acting role but Gage really proved that she can do and was awarded with a Golden Globe Award for her performance.

#2:
As always the soundtrack was marvellous. I especially loved it when the first episode was ended with “Hotel California”. It felt like a promise of what the season was up to and simply matched perfectly with the atmosphere.

#3:
The most outstanding performance beside Lady Gage was definitely delivered by Denis O’Hare. His Liz Taylor might be one of my all-time favourite AHS characters.

#4:
One of the things I really appreciate is the history bits and personalities they mix into the show. The idea for Devil’s Night with all those infamous killers was great. I spent hours on Wikipedia afterwards!

 

The Negatives:

#5:
After so much praise I need to mention some of the stuff I didn’t like that much. What really annoyed me was that most of the male characters (Donovan, Tristan, Will, Gabriel) looked so much alike, I could hardly tell them apart even when the show was almost over. I guess they did this intentionally to show the Countess’ type but for me it was nothing but a big annoyance.

#6:
James Patrick March. Although Evan Peters usually does an excellent job, his interpretation in this season was not too impressive. The accent was completely ridiculous and I was glad whenever he stopped talking.

#7:
This season started off very strong but unfortunately couldn’t keep up with its own promises. About halfway through the intensity started to recede. The episodes didn’t have a huge “wow-effect” anymore. Don’t get me more, they were also pretty decent but only the first half of the show really knocked my socks off. Even the last episode seemed a little affected and fitted, although the final scene was stunning!

 

That’s it. I can’t wait to see what they come up with for the next season! Let me now in the comments what you think about “Hotel”!

Related Posts:

 

8 thoughts on “7 Thoughts on American Horror Story Season 5 – A Recap

  1. Pingback: The FRIENDS Tag: TV-Shows | Le Cinéma en Rose

  2. Pingback: The Coffee TV Show Tag | The Punk Theory

  3. Pingback: 4 Amazing TV Shows that will return this Fall! | The Punk Theory

  4. Pingback: Halloween Horror: Top 4 Scary TV Shows | The Punk Theory

  5. Pingback: 3 Thoughts on American Horror Story Season 6 – Roanoke Nightmare | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

