Top 5 Books I read in 2015

Hello folks! We’re one week into 2016. If some of you are still looking for some great books to fill your shelves for this year, check out my 5 favourite novels I read in 2015. I’m sure you’ll love them!

 

#5 – Straight White Male by John Niven:
It’s safe to say I’m a John Niven fan. I read almost all of his books and although Straight White Male only is the #3 of my most beloved Niven books, I still was one of the best novels I came across in 2015. At first the story reminded me a bit of Hank Moody from Californication, but SWM is far more intense. Somehow Niven manages to stay away from all big clichés and to create something that’s emotional, witty and original.

 

#4 – A Dance With Dragons by George R. R. Martin:
I took my about one year to finish his A Song of Ice and Fire series. All of them are simply brilliant. So far A Dance With Dragons is the last book in the series (damn it Georg, hurry up with Winds of Winter!) and I really, really can’t wait for the next part to be released. Martin has a way of composing his stories that is unique. He has so many different plot lines going on, all them would suffice for a book of their own. Still he intertwines them perfectly and once you begin to understand what’s going on, the story simply sucks you in and you are hooked.

 

#3 – To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee:
To Kill A Mockingbird was part of my intentions to catch up with the classics. I am aware that it is said to be one of the best books ever but I hadn’t expected that it would capture me that much. I read it in one go. The story is so thrilling yet relatable and touching, it’s impossible to put the book down. Although it was published more than 50 years ago, it is still relevant.

 

#2 – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling:
I’m letting you in on a secret right now: I hadn’t read any of the Harry Potter books until July 2015. Unbelievable right? I have no idea why it took me so long, but I fell in love with the series from page 1. The characters become your friends, you feel with them and it breaks your heart to see them suffer. The entire series is brilliant but the last book is the most intense. I was so sad when I finished reading the last page, I didn’t want to say goodbye to my friends! It took me one month to read the whole series, it was over far to quick.

 

#1 – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson:
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo came to me by surprise. After I finished To Kill A Mockingbird I needed something to read for the weekend. As I was roaming the library I stumbled upon this book and somewhere in the back of my mind I heard a bell ringing. Little did I know that I would completely devour this book. Crime stories had never been on top of my list, but this book is thrilling, capturing, it doesn’t let you go. I couldn’t put it down until I had read the last page. You just want to know desperately what’s going to happen next. The biggest mystery was the character of Lisbeth Salander. She is weird and highly antisocial yet by the end of the novel you care her. Deeply.
Needless to say that I also read the other two books in high-speed-mode…

 

Did you read any of these books? Do you have and recommendations for  my 2016 reading list? Let me know in the comments!

 

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I read in 2015

Drop me a Line :-)

