5 Thoughts on The Astronaut Wives Club (TV Show)

A few months ago I stumbled on this TV show. Based on a rather famous book that reconstructs the lives of 7 women. The women who were married to America’s first group of astronauts. Sounds pretty promising, right?

 

Thought #1 – The History:
What fascinated me most about the show are the history bits. Before watching I knew just about nothing about the Mercury program. However, after each episode I spent quite some time on Wikipedia learning about what I just saw. I’m not certain how accurate the show is in whole but the stuff I looked up was shown very realistically in the show.

 

Thought #2 – The Setting:
I always adored the fashion of the 50’s and 60’s. When it comes to the clothes, the cars, the houses, well the whole setting, a marvellous job was done. While watching you could believe that the show really was shot in the 50’s as it was done so detailed.
If you like that kind of stuff, you will love everything about this show.

 

Thought #3 – The Actors:
At first it took me some time to get used to it. I had just finished watching Dexter and two important actors from that show have leading roles in The Astronaut Wives Club. Moreover, they are not the only familiar face. JoAnna Garcia is also widely known in the television world. I wasn’t familiar with the other actors, but I have to say the casting was done very well.

 

Thought #4 – The Wives:
To be honest, I didn’t finish all ten episodes. After about half of the season I decided to call it off, due to one fact: Although the show was centered around them the wives just didn’t have any depth. Even after five episodes they seemed rather pale and stereotypical. That’s really a shame as the show actually was very promising. But the way it is it’s not worth watching.

 

Thought #5 – The Book:
There are also some mixed reviews on the book but as I understand it, it turned out better than the TV show. I haven’t found the time to read it yet, but will give it a chance.

 

Have you seen the show? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “5 Thoughts on The Astronaut Wives Club (TV Show)

  1. The history is fairly accurate in respect to what happened, but they dramatized stuff (like the suggested affair between one of the wives and the Life magazine reporter). I haven’t read the book myself either, but I hope you’ll like it. I finished the show and realised in the end that it was really a finished mini-series. I thought they might make it longer, but the story has ended after the last episode.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Coffee TV Show Tag | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

