Movie Mania: Mockingjay Part 2

It’s finally here. The long awaited final part in the Hunger Games series. After Mockingjay 1 ended with an unbearable cliffhanger (basically somewhere in the middle of the third book the series the movies are based on) we had to wait for an entire year to see how the against the capitol and President Snow would end.

The Plot:
The revolution has reached the critical stage. It’s win big or loose even bigger. The rebels especially Katniss Everdeen, the face of the revolution, prepare for the final strike against the capitol and President Snow. Will they win?

 

The Rating:
To be perfectly honest, I actually wanted to do a Book vs. Movie post for this one. But it has been so long since I read the book, I can’t remember any of the details. 😛
Anyway, let’s get down to business. This movie is pretty epic. Filled to the top with famous and talented actors, I had no doubt Mockingjay Part 2 would be a worthy ending for the series. First of all, I am glad that they split up the last book. Stuffing it all into film would have been too much and just overwhelming to take in.
My first praise goes out to Jennifer Lawrence. As always she was magnificent. I’m certain nobody could have done a better job portraying Katniss Everdeen. Lawrence gives a strong and intense performance that gets under your skin. Furthermore, Willow Shields was the perfect embodiment of Primrose growing up and becoming a strong person, that had to deal with more stuff, anyone her age should ever have to. I can’t give a shout out to every one who appeared on the film, but let me say they all did a great job.
Another thing I was really glad about is the love story being reduced to a minimum. I was a little bit afraid that it might become the focus of the movie but hey, we’re in the middle of a revolution, I don’t care whom she chooses. But fortunately there were only very few scenes solely for the love story thing.
My last bit of praise goes out to whoever did the special effects. The novel came to life. I was very impressed how flawless and realistic the whole thing looked. Many movies annoy me because the explosion etc. are way over the top, but here it was just right. Great job!

Mockingjay Part 2 is a worthy ending for an impressive series. You can believe me, this film will get under your skin and send shivers down your spine!

Already seen the movie? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Movie Mania: Mockingjay Part 2

  1. Pingback: Soundtrack to my Life Movie Tag | Le Cinéma en Rose

  2. Pingback: Top 3 Young Adult Book Series! | Le Cinéma en Rose

Drop me a Line :-)

