My Top 5 Halloween Episodes

It’s Halloween!!! What a great occasion to honor all the amazing TV show specials for Halloween we got to watch throughout the years. Here are my 5 most beloved episodes:

 

My so-called Life – Halloween (S1E9):
MSCL is one of the best TV shows about teenagers ever. Although it only lasted for one season they managed to capture the very feeling of being young. One of my favourite episodes is “Halloween”. Our protagonists decide to break into school as there is some Halloween myth about a guy who died. What I love about this one is that is seems pretty realistic yet somehow special. The breaking in, what happens after, etc. it’s not like other shows when the story goes completely nuts. “Halloween” is a charming little episode you’ll love!

 

The Simpsons – Treehouse of Horror (S2E3):
Basically every Treehouse of Horror episode ever made is awesome but the one I like best is actually the very one that was made. While sitting in the treehouse the kids tell each other horror stories. There is one about a house built on a graveyard, one that introduces us to Kang and Kodos (whom we will meet again many times throughout the years) and my favourite one: The Raven. Brought to life by James Earl Jones as narrator, Edgar Allan Poe’s poem is simply amazing with the Simpsons playing all the characters. By now it’s a Halloween tradition for me to watch it!

 

Bob’s Burgers – Full Bars (S3E2):
Those of you read my blog more often will know by now how much I love Bob’s Burgers. This time the kids go trick or treating unsupervised for the first time (dressed up as Edward Scissorhands, an egyptian mummy with baby and Queen Lathifa) and explore a new route. Meanwhile Bob and Linda attend Teddy’s party when a murder happens – his guinea pig died.
Sounds crazy? It is. This episode is absolutely hilarious.

 

Charmed – All Halliwell’s Eve (S3E4):
When I was younger, I was a huge Charmed fan. I still remember this awesome episode. The sisters are taken back 1600 to save an unborn baby from an evil witch. The whole setting reminded my a bit of Sleepy Hollow (one of my favourite Halloween related films) and I just loved how the Halliwell sisters turned out to be responsible for us believing in witches flying on broomsticks!

 

American Horror Story – Fearful Pranks Ensue (S3E4):
On a list for Halloween you could simply list the entire 5 seasons of American Horror Story but my favourite actual Halloween episode is from season 3, Coven. The episode is split up into three parts taking place in 1961, 1971 and 2013. I won’t go more into detail about the plot but let me just say it’s great how many different aspect they bring together. Somehow it all blends in and give a perfect picture. Believe me when I say, this one will scare the shit out of you!

 

What’s your favourite Halloween episode? Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “My Top 5 Halloween Episodes

  1. the simpsons are a classic, of course. really enjoyed their interpretation of “the shining”! himym covers halloween a lot as well, really like their costume ideas (for couples plus ted, haha). did you dress up at all? have a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The shining thing was absolutely great!
      I dressed up as Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz. I was to lazy to do a fancy costume and make up, so i just grabbed a blue dress, my red chucks and a plush dog.^^
      how about you? =)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top 3 Claire Danes Movies | The Punk Theory

  3. Pingback: Top 4 TV Shows that feature Magic | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

