Scream Queens – 4 Thoughts on Episode 1

It’s almost Halloween so I decided to check out Scream Queens, a new TV series by Brad Falchuk and Ryan Murphy, creators of American Horror Story. This has to turn out great, right? Here’s what I think after episode 1:

 

First of all, what is it about?
It’s a kind of Mean Girls meets Horror and a sorority. There is this really mean and annoying chick (played by Emma Roberts) who is head of Kappa Kappa Tau. She’s the kind of person who expects the whole world to bow for her. However, besides all that stuff, a killer suddenly appears on campus and starts slaughtering. Oh, and there is some 20-year-old murder mystery.

 

My opinion:
As you can guess, I was pretty excited about this show as I am a fan of American Horror Story – and of horror movies in general.
But I ended up extremely disappointed. Why?

  1. Emma Roberts’ character is a cliché on two legs. (For those of you who watch AHS: her season 3 role even more stereotypical)
    I can’t even tell you how much that character annoyed me. No way I can’t stand that for an entire season.
  2. The plot is SO thin. The murder mystery pops up in the first five minutes with basically no explanation and then it’s gone. We spent the rest of the episode watching Emma Roberts’ terrorize the rest of the world.
    Honestly, I was about to quit watching about 10 times throughout the episode.
  3. Everything about the show is a stereotype. Falchuk and Murphy did such amazing and creative work for American Horror Story, it almost feels like they ran out of good ideas for this one. Every aspect of this episode seems like a déjà vu, you’ve already seen something like this somewhere else.
  4. Jamie Lee Curtis – why on earth did you take this role? She is the ultimate scream queen and I was excited to see her on the show. But as you can guess her character is lame. I expected to much more.

Summing up I have to say that basically everything about the show annoyed me. What could have been a great TV series ended up as collection of clichés. I’m pretty sure I won’t even watch episode two.

 

Do you know the show? What do you think? Let me know in the comments! =)

4 thoughts on “Scream Queens – 4 Thoughts on Episode 1

Drop me a Line :-)

