Ultimate Halloween Horror Movie List

It’s less than a week until Halloween – who else is already excited??
I’ve loved horror films ever since I was little so I decided to put together the ultimate list of Halloween horror movies for every taste! Hope you enjoy it 😉

 

The perfect Halloween movie for…

 

…Everybody who wants to laugh:

If you are into funny yet creepy and bloody stuff you need to check out Braindead. This is one of Peter Jackson’s earliest works and it’s simply hilarious. This might be one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen!

 

…Everyone who is into folk tales:

Sleepy Hollow. This is one of the films I watched about 30 times by now. It’s creepy, exciting and you will get scared. Johnny Depp and Christina Ricci both do a great job in this tale about the headless horseman (played by Christopher Walken – super creepy!).

 

…Those of you who like Black and White:

There is this old British movie (1945) called Dead of Night. I may not have the best special effects but for the time it was made it surely impressed me. It’s a very atmospheric movie and each of the different episodes it consists of has something to offer!

 

…Guys who want to catch up on the most iconic stuff:

Of all those very famous cult horror movies, The Exorcist is my favourite. This one will scare the shit out of you. It’s an extremely well made movie with outstanding actors. It was nominated for ten Academy Awards!
(For my German readers: watch it in English, the German synch is so bad, it’s even scarier than the rest of the film…)

 

…Everybody who likes remakes:

To be honest I’ve never seen the 1972 version of The Last House on the Left but the remake from 2009 is blood curdling. It’s an intense movie that appeals to things everybody is afraid of. The Last House on the Left contains scenes you can hardly look, so it’s definitely not for the faint-hearted.

 

…Literature Fans:

Is there anything scarier than a Stephen King novel turned into a movie? I was highly impressed by both Carrie and Shining. These adaptations turned out very well and will frighten you. I really couldn’t decide between any of them, just turn it into a double feature!

 

I hope you like my little list and got some inspiration for Halloween!
Do you already know how you will dress up? Let me know in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Ultimate Halloween Horror Movie List

  1. Pingback: Scream Queens – 4 Thoughts on Episode 1 | Le Cinéma en Rose

  2. Pingback: Book vs. Movie: Stephen King’s It | The Punk Theory

  3. Pingback: Halloween Horror: Frankenweenie (Movie Mania) | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

