Album Review: Fizzy Brain by Ducking Punches

I just realised that I haven’t written a post on music in ages. Well, no better way to start anew than with the review of Fizzy Brain, latest album of Ducking Punches, a Norwich based folk punk band.

(Until the first video for this album is released check out a great track from the last record:)

 

After I fell in love with their first two records, I was very excited to finally get to hear Fizzy Brain.
Before I shed some light on my favourite songs on this album, a few general words: Following an album als great as Dance Before You Sleep, Fizzy Brain had big footprints to fill. However, Ducking Punches didn’t let me down. Fizzy Brain is an atmospheric record that offers a whole spectrum of not only songs but also emotion. Although some songs are weaker than others, there is still a whole lot of amazing tracks. Fizzy Brain is definitely among my favourite albums of the year!

 

A few words on my 3 favourite tracks:

Greedy Bones:
It’s the first song on the album and an amazing kick off. Starting rather minimalistic and very atmospheric it reaches a climax that is impressive. Greedy Bones is a strong song with lyrics that everybody can somehow relate to. What I especially liked is the female singing part. It kind breaks up the whole while still perfectly blending in. This song gets better every time I listen to. I can already see myself singing along and blasting out the lyrics!

Drinking Outside Funerals:
For some reason this song reminds me a bit of “Big Brown Pills from Lynn”, a track on the last album Dance Before You Sleep that I loved. Again, this song offers feelings and moments everybody has been through at some point in their lives. For me this song is a reminder of everything that has been and will be.

JFH:
This one is intense. When I say intense I really mean it. JFH crawls under your skin, will give you goosebumps and send shivers down your spine. It’s a heartbreaking eulogy, the kind of song you can’t stop listening to. The kind of song that will always stir up emotion. The kind of song that will always mean a lot.

 

 

Already listened to the album? What do you think? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Album Review: Fizzy Brain by Ducking Punches

Drop me a Line :-)

