The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag!

Hello guys!
I’m sure some of you already know this tag but I only stumbled upon it a few days ago. The idea is really cool and a big shout out to The Impossible Girl Kat from Life and Other Disasters for tagging me!
I’m excited to get started, so here we go!

 

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like:
I know some people out there will want to slay me for this, but I hated the entire Lord of the Rings book series. For some reason I managed to finish all three books, but I was already annoyed after the first 20 pages of book #1. Tolkien dwells on little details that are neither interesting, fascinating or in any way relevant for the plot. Therefore the story drags on forever. 95% of the first book describe how they walk through a damn forest! (If you want to read more on that matter, here’s my detailed post)

Hollow City - Cover

2. A popular book that everyone hates but you love:

This one is hard to answer. I heard some mixed reactions on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, so this is my choice. I loved the book (and basically the entire series), not only for the story but also because of the authentic photographs, that create a perfect atmosphere and drag right into the story.

 

3. A love triangle where your ship did not sail:
Difficult. The Hunger Games is a book series I really enjoyed but the love story thing between Katniss, Peeta and Gale just annoyed me. Although at some moments I almost warmed up for that part, it never really worked out for me. I’m pretty sure revolution can also happen without the young heroine being torn between two guys.

 

4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for:
Love stories. I can get excited about basically any other genre but those romance filled stuff is something I can’t deal with. It only makes me roll my eyes and want to throw up.

 

5. A beloved character you didn’t like:the perks of being a wallflower
Charlie from The Perks of being a Wallflower. This could have ended up as answer to question #1 aswell as I really disliked the book. However, here it was not only the writing style and the story flow itself, but also the character I couldn’t bond with. For me Charlie is an annoying, weepy kid I can’t sympathize with (as I read stories on the same matter that were 100 times better and with more likeable characters).

 

6. A popular author you can’t get into:less than zero
Either J. R. R. Tolkien or Bret Easton Ellis. I read the entire LOR trilogy and The Hobbit but I can’t deal with Tolkien’s very very lengthy way of telling things. Ellis had his chance with Less Than Zero and American Psycho. I finished both books but to be honest I didn’t like either one of them. He has a way of spending a novel talking about events that are neither interesting nor seem to have any sense. There was no real beginning or ending. Basically there wasn’t even a storyline.

 

7. A popular books series you have no interest in reading:
I also have to mention two for this question. Fifty Shades of Grey is something I would never read. First of all, it’s a story I’m not interested in and second I heard that it’s written very badly. And that’s something I can’t deal with.
The second series I would never ever touch is Twilight. I don’t like love stories and I especially don’t like vampires that glitter in the sunlight.

 

8. An adaptation you like better than the book:
There’s actually an entire post on this matter here on my blog. But to answer the question I’d go with Trainspotting. The book was awful to read but the movie (although tough to stomach) was more intense. The music, the images, the actors – it felt far more atmospheric and capturing than in the novel. I’d never recommend the book to anyone but the movie was quite good.

 

That’s my picks, I hope you enjoy my answers. Tell me in the comments what you think!
If you want to do the tag also let me know in the comments so I can tag you!

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag!

  1. Great answers, even though I don’t agree on everything. But that’s the fun part right, to have different opinions! However, I do agree on Charlie! Everyone seems to love the Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I could not connect to the story or to him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. this is a cool tag, great responses too! agreed on lord of the rings, but I did enjoy ‘the hobbit’ a lot more (maybe because I was in NZ while reading it, just to brag a little :P).

    you’re absolutely right, never touch those ‘shades of grey’ books. I read one page, you can’t even imagine how horribly it’s written!

    but here’s my guilty pleasure.. I really liked to read the twilight books, because they’re an easy read. in the books it’s also a lot more to their love-story, watching the movies you have no idea why both guys actually fall in love with her!

    read ‘perks..’ as well, wasn’t too bad, same as ‘twilight’ I need an easy read every once in a while, like trashy tv, haha. but I never quite figured out WHAT the book wanted to be in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: 11 Random Facts about me. | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

