Top 5 Book Series

There’s nothing better than a good book series. Although it always set my teeth on edge, I can’t help but get hooked by a new one. The cliffhangers and waiting for the next book is torture but read on to find out with novels really are worth it!

 

A Song of Ice and Fire:
I have no idea how he does it, but George R. R. Martin managed to create a world so rich, so detailed, so magnificent it could almost be real. His series consists of five books (hopefully many more to come) that are filled with so many plotlines, it takes at least one entire book to get settled on the names. However, the story is extremely thrilling and intriguing and he constantly finds new ways to intertwine the plotlines. To be honest, these are some of the best books I ever read. Can’t wait for the next part!

 

Harry Potter:
As my regular readers will know, I recently read the Harry Potter series. I don’t know why it took me so long to discover the books, but I can only say they are brilliant. J. K. Rowling has an absolutely charming way of writing and you have no choice to love the characters. I could hardly put the books down and finished them as fast as I could. The stories are wonderfully woven and whenever you think you know what comes next, a surprise awaits. What I like most about these books is the fact that the story grows with the characters (and readers). What started out with a nice children’s book ended as a dark novel that will creep under your skin and send shivers down your spine.

 

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children:
This is a rather new series. In fact, the third part is coming out some time this September. But so far the first two novels were impossible to put down. The story is refreshing and different from anything I’ve read before. Ransom Riggs filled his books to the top with many great ideas and you have a hard time guessing what comes next. What makes these books so special are the photographs. Riggs hunts all the flea markets in this world for (sometimes very creepy) old photographs which he then includes in his novel. They blend in perfectly with the general style and the atmosphere and are something completely different from what you are used to.

 

Hunger Games:
This is one of the most popular series in my list. When I say the trailer for the movie a few years ago, I went out to get the books as fast as I could. Suzanne Collins managed to write a series that will tear your nerves to shreds. The story around a young girl who has to fight and soon bear an entire revolution on her shoulders is thrilling and believe, there won’t be any finger nails left to chew on by the time you finish. What fascinates me most about this series is how relatable it somehow is. Everything she mentions is both fiction yet in some way imaginable. I guess that’s what scares me most about these books.

 

Tomorrow When The War Began:
To be perfectly honest, I’m not done with this one yet. Although I’m only in the middle of the series I still need to include it here. It’s a brilliantly written series of books that are relatable. James Marsden manages to describe the events in a way that you think it could happen to you aswell. Although somehow absurd he manages to tell a story that in his words sounds so plausible it could happen, well, tomorrow. Until now it is a thrilling ride and I’m sure the rest of the series is just as capturing as the first few books.

 

What do you think? Finshed any of them? Did I miss a great one? Let me know in the comments below! =)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Book Series

  1. Awesome picks. My book club is about to start Miss Peregrine. I would also go for the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. Particularly if you like supernatural YA fiction.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Book vs. Movie: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

