5 popular and famous books that are completely overrated

There are some books everybody loves. Books that have basically reached some untouchable cult status. But after reading several of those praised novels, I was disappointed. Read on to find out which books I’d never touch again…
(There are detailed reviews on all of the books, if you want to find out more check out the links!)

 

1. The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald):

the great gatsby
I can’t even tell you how many great things I heard about this book – everything from “a classic” to “must read for everybody”. But my excitement started to fade rather quickly.
For some reason all of the characters remained shallow until the end of the story. No way you could bond with any of them. The story didn’t hold any surprises, in fact I never even managed to thrill me. There was no point throughout the whole book where Fitzgerald would have managed to get under my skin. For me Gatsby is not that great.

 

2. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy (J. R. R. Tolkien):

Those of you who watched the films know how amazing and thrilling the story about Frodo and the Ring is. As I had always loved the movies, I couldn’t wait to read the books. But instead of an exciting ride through middle earth, I got a lengthy and shallow story that made me want to stop read after ever other page. I somehow managed to finish all three books but none of them captured me. After trying really hard to get into Tolkien’s novel I give up. No chance to understand why people love them so much.

 

3. American Psycho (Bret Easton Ellis):american psycho

To be honest, this was not the first Bret Easton Ellis book I ever read. However, I didn’t like Less Than Zero but American Psycho was said to be great so I decided to give it a shot aswell. Big mistake. One point that annoyed me was the lack of a real story. There was no climax, nothing developing, moving forward. That made the entire book and especially the violence seems extremely pointless. I guess Bret Easton Ellis is another writer who has a style I just can’t get into.

 

4.  Royal Game/Chess Story (Stefan Zweig):schachnovelle

Another case of “I should have known better”. A few years ago I read another one of Zweig’s works but wasn’t to impressed. Royal Game was supposed to be a big shot, so I started reading. Although it is well written, this novella never lived up to my expectations. The story never managed to capture or thrill me. But what annoyed me most was how extremely forseeable the last third of the novella is. I had expected far more but was let down. However, this one doesn’t drag on as much as many of the books I mentioned before.

 

5.  The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Steven Chbosky):

the perks of being a wallflower

This is a novel I discovered via tumblr. Some time ago, The Perks of Being a Wallflower was on every page and it seemed like every tumblr user loved the book. After so much enthusiasm I simply had to read it. But for me it was not so much a modern masterpiece as lengthy read I wasted money on. The story and the writing style can only be described as wishy-washy. There was not much depth and definitely nothing really interesting. Nothing but clichés and stereotypes. Worst of all, it reminded me of a book named Thirteen Reasons Why, which was similar but far better written. This is certainly one of the worst coming of age stories I ever read. However, they managed to turn the whole thing into a rather nice movie!

 

What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “5 popular and famous books that are completely overrated

  1. great list & always love to read your opinion!
    I always mix up “american psycho” and “psycho” – the latter being a really good book imo!
    we had to read “chess game” for school so in that context I thought it wasn’t too bad for a school-force-read 😉
    always wanted to see the “perks” movie, will get onto that soon. the book couldn’t quite pull off the drama/comedy bits, I never really knew what to think about the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the kind words! =)

      I never read Psycho but it has been on my list for ages – I should really start on that one!
      To be honest, I didn’t include any books we read at school in this list. Otherwise the list would consist solely of school reads, haha.
      The Perks movie is far better than the book. The novel really annoyed me but for the film they changed up a few things, so it’s quite nice to watch.

      Like

Drop me a Line :-)

