Childhood Memories Revisited (Movie Mania): Hercules

It’s been a while since I wrote my last “Childhood Memories Revisited” post. But recently I came across a box where I keep all my old video cassettes. Going through all those lovely movies I had a hard time chosing a film for this post! I finally decided for Hercules, hope you enjoy it!

 

 

The Plot:

Those of you who are familiar with greek mythology might have an idea what to expect. Some parts are different but let me break it down for you. Hercules is a God. Born to Zeus and Hera he might be one of the mightiest Gods on the Mount Olympus. But Zeus’ evil brother Hades wants it for himself and decides to get rid of baby Hercules. But his assistants fail at killing the child – leaving him mortal but with superhuman strength.
As Hercules grows up he find out about his origin. It turns out the only way to get back to the Mount Olympus is by becoming a real hero. The training begins…

 

The Rating:

This is one of the movies I connect most memories to. I even had the computer game (love it!). First of all the sidekick is awesome. herculesHercules has a Pegasus who is just the most badass ever. The villain and his assistant are also super sassy. It’s hell of a combination!
But the two points I always liked best about the movie are the following: the girl in this Disney film is not someone in need of help and in search for her one true love. As she says herself: “I’m a damsel. I’m in distress. I can handle this.” As I mentioned before in my post about the movie Anastasia it’s good to see that Disney decided that women can to more than just sitting around and waiting to be saved.
The second point that mattered to me was to see the hero struggle. And with struggle I do not mean he has to fight a dragon to get his princess. Hercules is never accepted by the other kids because he is different, then he trains hard but also fails until he reaches his goal. He has to conquer enemies and make some hard decisions. To me it reflects real life. Of course there’s no Hydra waiting around the corner, but other problems you have to deal with, anxieties you have to fight. It’s not always rainbows and butterflies.
However, the movie’s also stuffed with some nice references to the greek mythology. I’ve always had an interest in that and it feels like every time I watch the film I discover something new.
The film is completed by really cool music you can’t help but sing along to.
Hercules will definitely always be one of my favourite Disney movies. If you haven’t seen it yet, go ahead and check it out, you won’t be disappointed! 🙂

 

One thought on “Childhood Memories Revisited (Movie Mania): Hercules

  1. Pingback: Soundtrack to my Life Movie Tag | Le Cinéma en Rose

Drop me a Line :-)

