Cause she wasn’t just talking about my pants. She was talking about my life.*

I was packing my suitcase. When I opened my drawer I came a cross a pair of purple jeans. Looking at it I had to think of an event that took place about a year ago. I was meeting up with a friend of mine (a rather new friend at that time) before a lecture – wearing that pair of jeans. When she arrived she told me how much she liked my pants but that she’d never dare to wear something like that.

That sentence made me think.

Why on earth should choice of clothes depend on what other people think? Those jeans aren’t even something daring. It never even occurred to me that maybe I shouldn’t be wearing them. 

Let me share a bit of personal advice right here. When I was much younger I was often mobbed at school. I remember occasions when I came home crying. So I know what it means to be bullied by somebody because of what you do, say, wear.

What that time of my life taught me is that you should never ever give a fuck about some idiots opinion.

  • Do/wear what you love. It will make you happier.
  • Don’t make your decisions dependent on some other people (you don’t even know or like).
  • Be yourself no matter what. Stop thinking about the way others perceive you.

Believe me, it will make you more confident and happy if you quit thinking about others.

 

*This quote is a slight paraphrasing of a quote from the TV show “My so-called Life”. The original quote was “Cause she wasn’t just talking about my hair. She was talking about my life.”

4 thoughts on “Cause she wasn’t just talking about my pants. She was talking about my life.*

  1. Pingback: Me from A to Z (part 3) | Le Cinéma en Rose

Drop me a Line :-)

