Chillin’ on the Couch with my Remote: Orange is the New Black

I’ve heard nothing but praise for this Netflix show. So I thought it’s time to check it out. By now I’m halfway into the second season =)

 

 

The Plot:

The story follows Piper Chapman, a successful woman who has to go to jail. Years ago she once carried a suitcase full of drug money for her then girlfriend Alex who was big in the drug business. We get to know her life in prison and also how her friends and family continue life without her.

 

The Rating:

Before I say anything about the show itself I need to state how much I like the theme song. Regina Spector contributed her song “You’ve got time” and it fits perfectly.
Moving on to the show be prepared to see something different. At first I way a bit irritated and it took me two episode to get used to it. But by now I’m hooked. In each episode you get not only the story of what’s currently going on, you also find out about each of the inmates lives.  One of the women is picked for every episode and her story gets told aswell.
What I really like about the show is that it feels realistic. Of course I have no clue about what prison is like but this one doesn’t seem so cheesy and artificial as most other movies. The characters are depicted as real people with credible stories. It is based on a true story and actors do a great job. I was deeply impressed.

The point I appreciate most about the show is something I mentioned before. It’s the way the stories are told. It’s something different, something new, something real.

6 thoughts on “Chillin’ on the Couch with my Remote: Orange is the New Black

  1. Pingback: Surprises and Disappointments: TV Shows I discoverend in 2014 | Le Cinéma en Rose

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Biggest TV Bitches | Le Cinéma en Rose

  3. Pingback: Top 10 TV Show Intros | Le Cinéma en Rose

  4. Pingback: 3 Reasons For Watching Orange is the New Black Season 3 | Le Cinéma en Rose

  5. Pingback: Favourite New Seasons of 2015 | Le Cinéma en Rose

  6. Pingback: 4 Thoughts on Orange is the new Black Season 4 | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

