Chillin’ on the Couch with my Remote: My so called Life

Today’s topic is a rather unknown 90s TV show. In just one season Claire Danes got to show how talented she is in the leading role.

 

 

The Plot:

Basically it’s a show about life as teenager. We follow Angela Chase through her everyday life. Feeling with her through tough times and being happy when things finally work out. However, this is not the regular plot one is used to. Problems like alcoholism or violence are brought up. In this show these problems are constant and not just a one episode problem that is solved in the end.

 

The Rating:

If there ever was a TV show that would have deserved a second season it is this one. I don’t think I know any other show that depicts life this close to reality. It’s not just the average type of show you’ve already seen a hundred times with nothing but parties and beautiful cheerleaders who have no problems. Angela’s thoughts seemed like something a teenager would really think and not just a line in a script written by an adult. The teen spirit was captured really really well. Also the way problems were addressed differs a lot from regular shows. There somebody drinks alcohol once but by the end of the episode every is ice cream and cotton candy again. In this show the problems really get addressed. In depth. A constant struggle is shown (and that in a very realistic way).
Claire Danes impressed my deeply with her presentation of Angela Chase. She did such an amazing job. Unfortunately most of the other actors never became that famous although they all portrayed their roles very well.
I almost forgot to mention the soundtrack. From Buffalo Tom to Grateful Dead, you just have to love it!

If you haven’t seen the show go and check it out. I promise you will love it because you’ll find yourself in the characters. They get under you skin.

 

I’ll just leave with a few Angela-quotes:

“Sometimes I think if my mother wasn’t so good at pretending to be happy she might be better at actually being happy. ”

“People are always saying you should be yourself, like yourself is this definite thing, like a toaster. Like you know what it is even. But every so often I’ll have, like, a moment, where just being myself in my life right where I am is, like, enough. ”

” The worst feeling is suddenly realizing that you don’t measure up. And that in the past when you thought you did, you were a fool. “

4 thoughts on “Chillin’ on the Couch with my Remote: My so called Life

  1. Pingback: Top 7 Underrated TV Shows | Le Cinéma en Rose

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Christmas Episodes in TV Shows | Le Cinéma en Rose

  3. Pingback: The Coffee TV Show Tag | The Punk Theory

  4. Pingback: The BFF TV Series Tag | The Punk Theory

Drop me a Line :-)

