Things to do in Vienna: A Walk through the first District

I’m now living in Vienna and as this is one of the most wonderful and beautiful cities in the world I thought I’d share my impressions with the world. =)

Today I had planned to go to the Burggarten and pay Goethe a visit. When I finally got the Goethe statue I decided to walk around a little more. In the end I spend one and a half hours wandering through Vienna’s first district coming across several monuments, museums and simply amazing architecture. Once more I was impressed by the many parks Vienna has to offer. Usually you won’t find many green spaces in big cities but Vienna is different.

U2 Museumsquartier

U2 Museumsquartier

First of all I took the subway to get to the Burggarten and even in the stations you can find art.

At the station Museumsquartier you find several paintings like the one in the picture as well as sculptures.

It already give you the perfect atmosphere for walking out into a district that is filled to the top with museums, art and monuments.

Then I finally began my little tour through the Burggarten. Before I found Goethe I came across Mozart, the emperors Franz I and Franz Josef. From this park you can also see the backside of the national library.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you cross the where the Goethe monument is you come to a very dear friend of him. At Schillerpark you can see a monument for the writer himself as well as of Franz Werfel and Anastasius Grün. Th te Statue of Schiller is situate right in front of the Akademie der bildenden Künste.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From there I walked to the Maria-Theresien-Platz where the Kunsthistories and the Naturhistorisches Museum are located. Currently a Christkindlmarkt takes place (just like at Rathausplatz and many other places in Vienna).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Crossing the street you come to Heldenplatz which is located in front of the Neue Burg (south-east wing of the Hofburg). There are two monuments, one of Prince Eugen and one of Erzherzog Karl, both riding on a horse.

Walking through Heldenplatz you come to Volksgarten another one of Vienna’s wonderful parks. From there you have a wonderful view on the Austrian Parliament. And you encounter another great writer: Grillparzer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

little tree at volksgarten

little tree at volksgarten

At the Volksgarten I came across a really lovely thing. Some of the trees planted there are dedicated to people. They even bear some nice words. Isn’t that one of the cutest things ever?

Dr Karl Renner

Dr Karl Renner

Leaving the Volksgarten I headed for the Parliament and the Rathaus.
Walking along the Rathausplatz I found another monument: one for Dr. Karl Renner.

I finally reached the Parliament and read a very interesting writing on the concrete right in front of it. The words are “What happens when we forget to remember?” in several languages. The Parliament itself is one of the prettiest buildings in Vienna. The Greek statues in the front are simple marvelous.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Coming from the Parliament I crossed to street to get to the Rathausplatz. This is one of the many place where you can currently find a Christkindlmarkt. The Christmas decoration looks stunning, it’s even prettier when it is illuminated. On the other side of the street you can see the famous Burgtheater.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Realising that it wasn’t far anymore I decided to walk the rest of the way to get back home instead of taking the subway. I soon came to the Votivkirche and the Sigmund-Freud-Park in front of it where you can of course find a monument for the most famous psychoanalyst.

The station Schottentor marked the end of my tour. From there I got on the tram and was as good as home. =)

Once more I was assured that Vienna is a wonderful city with a mind-blowing architecture. Whenever I talk a walk through this city I can’t help but take a load of pictures to capture the beauty.

One thought on “Things to do in Vienna: A Walk through the first District

  1. Pingback: Me from A to Z (part 3) | Le Cinéma en Rose

Drop me a Line :-)

