Why do you blog? – a question asked by headinavice

I recently came across a post here on wordpress in which the blogger tells us why he started to blog in the first place. It’s in interesting question that reveals more about the person behind the computer screen, so here we go:

I always loved writing. When I was younger I used to write a lot, and by that I blogreally mean A LOT. But during my last years of school, my creative side seemed to die a little. The school I attended was about economy and accounting. As you can tell these subjects have absolutely nothing to do with creativity and for the last years everything was about efficiency and doing only what brings benefits. Thus I began neglecting my hobbies like drawing and writing more and more.

A year ago I ran out of books to read during the holidays and bored as I was I searched the net. I started a tumblr blog and after reblogging for some time I got bored again. So a wrote a little something. And then another one and another one. I realised that tumblr isn’t the optimal platform for that kind of blogging. That’s when I came across wordpress. I transferred the few things I had written on tumblr and began to explore wordpress.

After a little consideration I decided what my blog should be about. I love movies and books and I thought “hey, my reading and watching TV could be helpful for other people”. As I was already used to talking about those two subjects a lot I knew I could also write about them.
From time to time I also post other things, personal thoughts. Whenever I need it to my blog functions as a kind of diary for me. Sometimes I can’t seem to get my thoughts in order or I feel like i have something to get off my chest. Then I start writing about it and afterwords I feel relieved.

However, I can say I’m not primarily in for the hits. Of course I’m happy about every new follower and every like. I hope that my reviews are helpful for others and they enjoy them. But for me it’sΒ  more about the writing itself. I helps me to form my thoughts and the reviews are a good writing exercise. Especially the dairy-ish posts are more a personal kind of thing than something I want to draw audience with.
Anyways I’m glad that there are people out there who read and like my blog and I am grateful that I have the opportunity to share my thoughts with the world.

Drop me a Line :-)

