RSS

Movie Mania: 500 Days of Summer

29 Mar

Marc Web’s comedy-drama from 2009 tells about the rise and fall of a relationship. The two protagonists are played by Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

The Plot:
In non-linear form we find out how Tom Hansen meets Summer Finn. He is an architect who works for a greeting card company. She starts her new job as assistant of Tom’s boss. We get most of the usual story: they fall in love, the have problems, they break up, after the break-up they run into each other again but live goes on and bla bla bla. No need to say anything else.

The  Rating:
I’m not quite sure about this movie. It’s done pretty nicely but there are a few things that bother me. First of all it is Zooey Deschanel. Thinking about it for some time I realised that in every movie or show I ever saw her in she basically played the same role. The same kind of girl with the same character. This lack of versatility if my first point on the contra “500 Days of Summer”-side. Moreover, she somehow didn’t get it along in this film. She sort didn’t manage to project her role and her feelings, her character remained rather pale to me. (One more point on the negative side)
However, I liked Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s presentation of a rather fragile character. He did a got job going through the I-like-her-I-love-her-I-hate-her-It’s-okay-transformation. (Yay that’s one on the pro-side) Another thing I absolutely loved was Tom’s sister portrayed by Chloë Grace Moretz. She is there for him when he’s down and she tells him how it’s really going. She’s better at this than Tom’s friends. The girl seems more down to earth and in touch with real life than any of them. (so far we have a tie with pro and contra)
One more negative point was the ending. It was very cliché like and very forseeable. I would have preferred to simply leave out that scene as it was very affected and absolutely unnecessary.
Anyway, I still have one more positive remark: I absolutely loved the soundtrack. We get The Smiths, Simon & Garfunkel, Wolfmother. How could you not like that?
As you can see it’s three negative versus three positive arguments. Partly the movie was very nice and witty. Other scene were just not original at all, something you’ve seen before a hundred times.
Before I watched this film I had already heard quite a lot about it. There were many screen-caps on tumbler and quotes that animated me to go and check it out. But with all the positive echo I came across before I had just expected more. Something better, more original.

 

6/10

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2014 in Movie Mania

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Movie Mania: 500 Days of Summer

  1. sally

    March 29, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    shallow take on a multi-layered film. Either you slept thru part of it, or you’re used to only ever coasting on the surface of things. Sorry for you.

     
    • thepunktheory

      March 29, 2014 at 6:33 pm

      Well, I don’t consider my review shallow. It simply reflects my opinion. If you see it differently it’s perfectly okay. But just because I don’t agree with your view there is no need dis me.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

